Skip to content ↓

Recognition Awards 2023

At this year’s Awards we welcomed 350 people to the Royal Armouries Museum, in Leeds, to celebrate everything that makes us a Co-operative Trust. 

With special performances from our academies, the night was filled with celebration and gave colleagues an opportunity to look back at the fantastic work and achievements of 2022-2023.

A huge thank you to Co-op Academy Priesthorpe for opening the evening with their rock band, to Co-op Academy Leeds for their student performances, and especially to Co-op Academy Delius for the incredible amount of work that the staff and children put in for their performance. It was incredibly important to include Delius as one of our special schools in this year’s event.

We received over 900 nominations this year, which is more than ever before! Although it isn’t possible to invite all those nominated, we’re grateful to each one of you for your contributions to your academies and local communities. 

The categories for our awards this year were based on our ‘Ways of Being Co-op’.

Below are this year’s winners:

Be yourself, always:
  • Rebecca Fox - Co-op Academy Leeds
  • Sally Gill - Co-op Academy Woodslee
  • David Brooks - Co-op Academy Failsworth

Do what matters most:
  • Kirsty Peet - Co-op Academy Walkden
  • Jo Clifton - Co-op Academy Stoke
  • Helen Elkin - Co-op Academy Friarswood

Succeed together:
  • Co-op Academy Walkden’s Safeguarding Team (Kirsty Peet, Elaine Beattie, Lindsay Corry, Su Zammit)
  • Natalie Wright - Co-op Academy Stoke
  • Co-op Academy Belle Vue’s Music Production Team (Helen James, Amy Clarke, Caitlin Wineyear, Jo-Ann Bright, Melissa Boyd, Ewan Sowerby, Steve Brice)

Show you care:
  • Sandy Utley - Co-op Academy Bebington
  • Tom Bramner - Co-op Academy Swinton
  • Sue Sutton - Co-op Academy Bebington

Geoff Clarke Award:
  • Michelle Stacey - Co-op Academy Broadhurst
  • Michael Burnett - Co-op Academy Oakwood
  • Leanne Watkins - Co-op Academy North Manchester

Community Award:
  • Jo Pickles - Co-op Academy Smithies Moor
  • Holiday Club- Co-op Academy Glebe (x7 awards)
  • (Suzanne Oakes-Smith, Luke Jenkinson, Helen Maybury, Rachel Kenny, Louise Finney, Claire Armstrong , Alison Molloy)
  • Emma Boswell - Connell Co-op College

Support Staff Award:
  • Sara Grogan - Co-op Academy North Manchester
  • Sarah Jackson - Co-op Academy Broadhurst
  • Nicola Lister - Co-op Academy Smithies Moor

Teacher of the Year Award:
  • Laura Parkinson - Co-op Academy North Manchester
  • Michelle O’Brien - Co-op Academy Oakwood
  • Kirsty Bryden - Co-op Academy Brownhill

Central and Hub Team winners:
  • Andy Gibson 
  • Laura Roberts
  • Claire Dodd